Weather data
A large number of automatic weather stations has been implemented in the frame of the BIOTA AFRICA project by the Namibian National Botanical Research Institute (NBRI) and the Group "Biodiversity, Evolution and Ecology" (BEE) of the University of Hamburg. The website offers hourly updates of data and graphs of a large number of weather parameters.


BMBF Logo

Visitors since 2007-09-26
(Relaunch website)
 

 

List of subprojects funded by the South African Department of Science and Technology (DS&T)


Subproject DS&T 01
The ecological status of Aloe pillansii in southern Africa and its role as an indicator of climate change impacts in the region
Prof MT Hoffman, University of Cape Town, Private Bag, Rondebosch 7701, South Africa
thoffman@botzoo.uct.ac.za

Subproject DS&T 02
Impact of land use and land transformation on vertebrate and invertebrate assemblages in a South African biodiversity hotspot, the Succulent Karoo
Dr C Krug, University of Stellenbosch, Private Bag X1, Matieland 7602, South Africa
ckrug@sun.ac.za

Subproject DS&T 03
Development of biodiversity rapid assessment methods in the Southern African biodiversity hotspots
Prof M Samways, University of Stellenbosch, Private Bag X1, Matieland, 7602, South Africa
samways@sun.ac.za

Subproject DS&T 04
The clay mineralogy and micromorphology of soils within the BIOTA-South transect: towards an understanding of factors affecting water infiltration and subsurface lateral water flow in semi-arid and arid ecosystems
Dr A Mills, University of Stellenbosch & SANBI, Private Bag XI, Matieland 7602, South Africa
mills@nbi.ac.za

Subproject DS&T 05
A feasibility study: ameliorators of anthropogenic climate change . small scale improvements of a large scale problem
Dr C Seymour, University of Cape Town, University of Cape Town, Rondebosch 7701 South Africa
cseymour@botzoo.uct.ac.za

Subproject DS&T 06
West Coast fog: regional climate dynamics and the role in regional soil moisture and nutrient cycling
Prof B Hewitson & Dr A Mills, Universities of Cape Town, Stellenbosch and SANBI
hewitson@egs.uct.ac.za

Subproject DS&T 07
The development of an easily-accessible database of archival landscape photographs for the detection and monitoring of environmental change in southern Africa
Prof MT Hoffman, University of Cape Town, Private Bag, Rondebosch 7701, South Africa
thoffman@botzoo.uct.ac.za

Subproject DS&T 08
Tierberg Karoo Research Centre reborn (1987-2007)
Prof SJ Milton & Dr WRJ Dean, University of Cape Town, University of Cape Town, Rondebosch 7701 South Africa
sukaroo@telkomsa.net
lycium@telkomsa.net

Subproject DS&T 09
Use of BIOTA observatories for validation of MODIS data products -and to provide training and outreach in the use of MODIS imagery
Dr R Knight, University of the Western Cape, Private Bag X17 Bellville 7535, South Africa
Rknight@uwc.ac.za

Subproject DS&T 10
Developing local level monitoring of natural resources in communal rangelands
Dr N Allsopp, Agricultural Research Council, Private Bag X17, Bellville 7535, South Africa
nallsopp@uwc.ac.za

Subproject DS&T 11
Updating the literature database for the southern African arid zone
Prof MT Hoffman, University of Cape Town, Private Bag, Rondebosch 7701, South Africa
thoffman@botzoo.uct.ac.za